Some companies have uniforms for their staffs which must be worn at all times. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Some companies make uniforms mandatory for their staff, and they have to carry them at all times when they are on duty. The benefits of wearing uniforms at the workplace are carrying a sense of professionalism during duty, and easily being recognised by their clients. The downsides are being bored by wearing the same types of clothing every day, and not being able to try different clothes at the workplace. The benefit of wearing a uniform is that it provides the staff with a sense of professionalism. As long as a staff wears an uniform, he feels about himself more committed and dedicated to his work. Another advantage of wearing uniforms at the workplace is that a professional can easily be recognised by his service users. When a client sees a professional in a particular uniform, he easily identifies him and asks for service. For instance, staff from age-care sectors wear uniforms at all times while providing service to their clients. The aged clients can easily recognise their staff by their uniforms, and ask for service from them. The drawback of wearing uniforms at the workplace is that a person can get bored by wearing the same types of clothes every day. It can create a sense of monotony in the mind of a staff. Moreover, those people who are fashion-conscious, and love to try out different clothing every day, will not be able to practice that at their workplace. This might lead to dissatisfaction among them regarding their profession. For example, 40% of the police of the USA have said that although they consider their profession as rewarding, they do not love to wear the same uniforms every day, and they identify it as one of the drawbacks of their professions. To conclude, although uniforms help professionals to properly carry their identities, wearing the same types of clothing every day is sometimes monotonous. It also deprives a professional of choosing his everydayday clothing of his own.