As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problems?

Every year flights are increasing drastically due to the number of tourists. According to a survey made in 2022 enplanements in South America rose by 20% since the year 2000. This leads to dangers and problems, which people are starting to see. So what problems occur and what measures should people take in order to solve these problems? First and foremost is carbon emission and greenhouse gasses. It contributes to climate change and increases air pollution. Comparing 2020 to 1990 the emissions have increased by 17%, therefore there is no question that it puts our planet at great risk. In addition, the loud noise is one of the biggest setbacks when talking about the environment. Judging by statistics posted in 2019: at the European airports, 3.2 million people were complaining about aircraft noise. It not only affects people ’s health but also makes a big impact on animal nature. It impedes their breeding and sleeping, which can even result in extinction of some species. In conclusion, there are many negative aspects that planes cause. In order for carbon footprint and loud noise to plummet, people need to make changes. First of all, the biggest difference would be making more sustainable biofuels and renewable energy. LATAM airlines are on the right track with developing alternative fuels. In 10 years they reduced carbon footprint by 6%, which proves that they can make changes. In addition to solving loud noise problems, tourists could use various forms of transportation. For example a Swedish activist Greta Thunberg refuses to fly planes and chooses sailing or bikes, which are more ecological options. All things considered plane noise is dipping and airlines are trying to make their way to nature-friendly flights. In conclusion, flights affect our environment drastically, but there are solutions that can help our planet to suffer less.