Some think schools should rewards students who have the best academic results, while others think it’s more important to reward students who achieve other types of success (such as sports, music, and good behavior). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, it has remains as a souce of controversy what kind of achievement schools should reward their students. While there are some good arguments in favour of the view that schools just prioritize academic results, I would argue that other types of accomplishment should be included. On the one hand, there is a growing belief that academic performance should be the focus of education systems. The first reason is that parents believe the school is the place to learn academic knowledge, such as math or physics, which is considered to be the key to their children's future success. Thus they expect the school to implement a policy to urge their students to pursue academic success. Secondly, many advocates of this view argue that involving in other kinds of activities that are not related to study could harm their score in the long term. For instance, in Vietnam, a great proportion of students who pay attention to other activities get lower scores than the others. On the other hand, giving awards to other types of accomplishment could open up numerous opportunities for younger generations. Firstly, rewarding various subjects could allow them to find out their strengths beyond academic content. For example, in Vietnam, many professional athletes become successful after figuring out their talent when they attend school competitions. Another reason is that participating in different programmes serves as a means for students to enhance their social skills, which are appreciated by big organizations nowadays. This would help students to comprehensively grow and secure their successful careers in the future. In conclusion, while there are certain reasons why many believe that merits should be given only to academic achievements, it seems to me that school including other kinds of accomplishment is a better option.