It has been suggested that all citizens should stay in full-time education until the age of 21. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is argued that till the age of 21, all individuals must be in full- time education. The advantages to this are that students will be able to enhance their knowledge and skills, and it will help in their personal development. However, the disadvantages are that it may come with a financial burden and also result in a delayed entry into the workforce. As the years of university time increase, the time received to completely hone the technical know-how and skills also increases. Graduates will then come out of college with advanced knowledge and technical abilities, making them more competitive in the job market. Moreover, extended schooling encourages personal growth, critical thinking, and maturity, leading to well-rounded individuals. For example, a boy graduating at 21 is more mature to take on the corporate world than someone graduating at 18. But, longer school time can be taxing on some families, as they may not be able to afford it, eventually leading to increased student debt. This will be especially true for families with a low annual income. Additionally, the time to get the first full- time job might also be delayed, which could impact lifetime earnings. For instance, graduates tend to receive employment offers by 18 or 19 years of age, allowing their families to start becoming financially dependent on their children's salaries. If this is delayed, then parents might have to take money out of their lifetime savings to support the school fees for a couple of years more. In conclusion, mandating people to continue with their education till 21 will benefit their personality development and more subject matter expertise. But, it comes with drawbacks like late employment opportunities and monetary challenges.