Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

Over the past decades, the number of overweight people has increased, and this trend is being observed nowadays. This essay will discuss the main reasons for this epidemic and then describe the possible effects of the problem. To begin with, the foremost causes of obesity are an inactive lifestyle and unhealthy eating habits. Today, more and more people rely on cars instead of walking, have fewer physical demands at work, and prefer inactive leisure activities. This results in burning fewer calories and gaining weight. Moreover, the problem is accentuated by the growing number of people who eat irregularly and consume large portions of high-calorie food. For example, about 50% of the adult population in Europe suffers from being overweight due to disordered eating habits. The possible effects of this problem include physical health problems and loss of productivity. Firstly, obesity results in the incorrect functioning of the human body and contributes to the risk of developing some chronic illnesses. For example, as body fat percentage increases, the person's metabolism worsens, which in turn may result in diabetes or heart disease. Furthermore, overweight people are very unhealthy and often suffer from stress and tiredness. This lessens their work capacity and leads to lower productivity. For instance, it has been proven that an obese person needs to put more effort into completing some tasks than a person with normal weight. To sum up, obesity is a big issue that affects a lot of people nowadays. It is mainly caused by inactive lifestyles and eating disorders and has a detrimental impact on severe health problems and loss of productivity.