Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a subject of debate whether reading the news is a waste of time or beneficial since it impacts people's lives. I personally believe that news has significant effects on our lives for two very important reasons.   One of the main features of getting to read newspapers or watch news shows is that you can be familiar with local and global events. It is a well-known fact that people prefer to hear the news from a reliable place to avoid rumors. For example, news programs provide essential information even about events or public health that have a direct impact on humans. This is highly beneficial for individuals to have expectations about their futures.    Another crucial reason why I think that people have to be aware of the news is right is because the economic news mostly affects personal financial investments. Falling interest rates, for instance, can make it an attractive time to buy bonds. In my opinion, this would lead to a stronger financial state. However, there are those who say that watching news is wrong because it might impact your life negatively and put you under pressure. Yet, this is not really justifiable because people should have balance between their lives and the news and not let the negative news impact their daily lives.    In conclusion, for the above reasons, it is clear that there are extremely strong reasons to support the view that reading newspapers and watching television news programs is not west of time, and it is clearly beneficial for society and economic position.