In some countries, more and more people are becomming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

In the present day, people around the world are interested in exploring the history of their own residence or accommodation. In this essay, the reasons behind this trend and the ways people research this will be explained in detail. To begin with, there are many interesting reasons behind this situation. First, curiosity and education are major factors influencing residents, leading to finding the stories behind the living place they live. Another reason is the need to stay connected with their own ancestor, especially their historical heritage. For example, finding some stories about a grandmother or mother who passed away in furniture such as a cupboard could provide incredible fulfilment and a wonderful nostalgic feeling. Moreover, real estate value is a considerable factor by knowing some interesting background of the property or naming of a former owner that could have a positive influence on market value. According to the popularity of this trend, people have several ways to get accommodations information. Some may interview long-time living residents and local people in their area or engage with historical society, as it is the easiest approach. Searching through online databases is also a usable method, which offers significant information because it has the largest gathering of data across the world. For instance, using Google Maps and search engines can be very helpful for finding data about accommodation which was constructed in the last 50 years. However, this method may lack the old information or events that occurred earlier than the establishment of the digital network. Therefore, some individuals gather the history of their house by visiting the old town library to access books and old documents. In conclusion, people are influenced by many factors to find their own history of their building such as curiosity, historical heritage, ancestor relationship and property value. Consequently, most of them find their way to get information by using different approaches including talking to local residents, searching from the internet databases and accessing old books from the library.