Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. As an internet -based way of communication, social media has become the dominant route of interpersonal interactions nowadays. While some overestimate its improper effects, negative and positive views will be discussed here, and I will describe why I am in favour of its merits. A number of people believe that communicating through the Internet entails unfavourable impacts. For one, spending more on the Internet leaves less time for face-to-face meetings and drifts apart family members. Everyone possesses a smartphone these days, chatting with friends and others and allocating less time to their loved ones weakens close emotional relations. The less conversation among members of a household is, the more their affective behaviour will be damaged. For another, individuals involved in daily routines by the Internet, socialize less and are isolated. For instance, shopping online, in addition to meeting others on social media, prevents them from in-person sessions. These can lead to being more separated from the society. Despite the demerits mentioned above, I am of the opinion that internet -based interactions bring about more benefits. First, one is able to connect with relatives and friends as simply as a click. Many platforms, such as Facebook, enable their clients to get in touch with their acquaintances just by clicking a button. In the past, for a short talk, people had to write letters or call several times to speak with each other successfully. Even if the distances were too long, they could not be in touch for a long time, which used to cause falling out with them. Second, the new ways of communication allow persons to save time in the busy lifestyles of today. Working long hours and living in megacities consumes most part of daily lives, therefore, without using the Internet, it would be impossible to greet many relatives very often. Thus, advancement in information technology can promote social behaviours. In conclusion, social media might have some disadvantages, such as not meeting others face-to-face and socializing less, I believe that its advantages, like simple connection and saving time, are more prominent.