Many small local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this affect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Many little, local stores are lacking as they are helpless to compete with big shops in the space. As a result, local shops will face job loss and provide less personal service, but this can be tackled by promoting local shopping initiatives and collaborating networks for local businesses. Firstly, the main problem faced by local shops is job loss. In other words, when the shops go down, it will be difficult to find a job. For example, in China, they created large markets, and jobs began to decrease. Consequently, people will find it hard to secure employment, and poverty will rise. Secondly, another problem is less personal service. This is because when people do not get good service, there will be issues and even crimes. Moreover, no one can easily help them with what they need. There are two solutions. One of those solutions is to promote local shopping initiatives. That is to say, if the governments or community groups organize campaigns that encourage residents to shop locally, while providing incentives like loyalty programs, this could attract more customers and help level the playing field with large supermarkets. For instance, when governments run promotional campaigns, markets will develop. Another solution is that collaboration between shops is essential. If they want more customers, they have to work together to reduce costs and offer better prices to attract customers. To sum up, local shops are unable to compete with large supermarkets, leading to job losses and less personal service, which can only be tackled by encouraging local shopping and fostering collaboration.