Some people believe that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is widely believed that competition has a positive influence on people's academic and non-academic lives, while there are others who opine that a sense of cooperation among people must be encouraged. This essay will outline some arguments in favor of both sides and finally put forward my personal stance on this matter. On the one hand, encouraging competition at different stages of life improves an individual performance on various tasks. To elucidate it, people will tend to work even harder and give their best if they have peers in the same field who challenge them. Alternatively, it seems illogical to invest time and effort if you do not have competitors. To epitomize, it is certainly the rivalry that distinguishes the performance of a number students in the same class on the basis of their grades, and eventually rank them from highest to lowest. On the other hand, competing against each other have its downsides as well, which encourage the sense of support and coordination among people. Sometimes, people start leg-pulling in order to surpass their competitors, which is unacceptable. Moreover, support from peers could help people to grow better as an individual, and in fact benefits the society as a whole. For instance, if an organization encourages the sense of cooperation among its workers regardless of their position in the industry, it will result in a more productive work environment, and ultimately lead to more profit and a good reputation. Many studies have shown that the supportive behaviour of managers and executives with their workers encourage them to stay longer in the firm and work more efficiently. To recapitulate, while competing against each other is beneficial in academic life, teamwork and collaboration are more essential in professional life. From my perspective, competitiveness should be restricted to school life and the mutual support is adopted in non-academic and daily life.