Some people think that it is beneficial for students to go to private secondary schools, but others think that it has negative effects. Discuss both points of view and give your own opinion.

I agree that sending students to private secondary schools has benefits, and I also agree that sending them to such schools has negative effects. In this essay, I shall look at these benefits and drawbacks. The main benefit of sending students to private schools is that the quality of education there is generally better. It is natural that wealthier parents should want their children to go to the best school that they can afford. Private schools, since they charge parents directly rather than relying on the government for money, can charge higher fees. Part of these fees is generally used to pay teachers a higher salary than they would get in the state sector. This means that, generally speaking, private schools have better teachers than state ones. This should be, and usually is, reflected in higher exam results for students at private schools. A beneficial side effect of this is that parents who send their children to private schools are still paying for state ones through taxes. The main disadvantage of a private school, in my opinion, is that the students there may not reflect society as a whole. Instead, they probably only reflect the wealthier than average part of society, since poorer parents cannot afford to send their children there. This can lead to students from private schools believing that they are inherently better than students from state schools. It could also lead to suggestions that private schools are elitist. Most private schools in Britain try to overcome such criticisms by providing a certain number of places for talented students from poorer families, either at reduced fees or for no fee at all. In conclusion, I think that there are both positive and negative aspects of private schools. Generally though, I think that they are a good thing.