Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some individuals believe that music is a great way to unite people from various ranges of cultures and generations. I strongly agree with this approach because music is a universal way of communication. To begin with, I reckon most of us can enjoy the rhythm and melody of music, regardless of their linguistic background, age or the nation that they belong to. We can feel the sense of a song even if we don’t understand its lyrics. Due to the fact that feelings like sadness or cheerfulness are international and they are perceivable in any language. Therefore, we can perceive the mood of a significant piece of music even though we aren’t speaking that language. For example, last year I attended a traditional music festival in Spain and I wasn’t familiar with Spanish so I couldn’t understand the meaning of their song. Nevertheless, that event was truly memorable for me because I was accompanied by the harmony of songs and enjoyed them while I didn’t get the meaning of them. Moreover, music is a timeless phenomenon so all individuals of different ages can be pleased by it. If a song is a masterpiece people can’t forget it easily. For example, in Iran, there are plenty of old and traditional songs which composed decades ago but people still love them and listen to them no matter how they are old. On the other hand, some individuals think music represents a significant part of a culture so it ought to be only a part of that particular country. However, music is created to be heard therefore we don’t have the right to deprive someone of it. In conclusion, I believe although music makes us connected to our culture, we don’t have to limit ourselves to a certain type of song and we can be related to the varied number of regains by their music.