There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

There is no denying the fact that there is an increasing trend to assessing students on their exam grades. There is also an argument that the educational system should focus on continual assessments along with tests and exams. This essay will analyze both points of view and express my opinion. On the one hand, there are several reasons why exams are a better way to assess the students, one of the reasons is due to the pure and easy way the teachers can review their student's knowledge. For instance, when a student gets a full grade, you can easily give him a full mark. However, when the teacher wants to give one of the students high marks, it will be difficult according to continual assessments. On the other hand, it is clear to the naked eye that not every student likes this way of processing their skills. In other words, the exam paper focuses on the summary skills of the students more than their knowledge of this subject. For example, students who fail tests because of stress and anxiety it is kind of unfair to them when the teacher gives them a C or B when they deservean deserve Aor A+ just because the pressure atmosphere and the anxiety were on their side. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, nevertheless, I tend to believe that there should be some kind of balance between assessing students through exams and continual assessments to get a fair chance for every student.