Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The ushering of redevelopment of old buildings has been urged by the citizens of every country. It is an ideological approach to facilitate modernisation in an emerging country to capture the attention worldwide. However, this strategy has been condemned by a number of people who believe that this agenda is ignorant towards the history and significance of the old buildings. Therefore, I stand by my belief that we should further protect these buildings from devilish planning. Right off the bat, the primary driver that causes people to usher for reconstruction is that maintaining artefacts of construction is costly. Truthfully, knocking down walls is a myopic approach that requires less intellectual acuity and manpower to combat this issue. For instance, a construction agency is more likely to utilise machinery to knock down buildings and build new ones from scratch, than to redesign structures to strengthen old commodities. Inevitably, this will significantly alter the site of residential areas, cities, sub-urban and rural areas. Conversely, others concentrate exclusively on the historic and sentimental values a building holds towards their country. For instance, the National Merdeka Stadium of Malaysia was to be demolished by the government to build a greater complex for economic growth. However, the citizens of Malaysia were raged out by the announcement and subsequently protested to protect their historical culture. Moreover, It is an insult to the country to take down a national artefact for the sake of modern civilisation, as a civilisation without a historical foundation is ignorant. In conclusion, I predominantly believe that the pervasive thoughts of remodelling to align the country with globalisation should be curbed immediately. Nonetheless, an intervention is paramount towards those with shallow thinking, as conserving artifactual monuments can be addressed by a multifaceted approach with a collaboration between individuals and the government.