More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause? What do you think is a possible solution?

An increasing number of people from developing nations are making their first car purchases. The principal problems this causes are pollution and traffic congestion, and the most viable solution is better public transport. The primary issue developing countries face when their citizens start to buy cars is increased pollution. This occurs as a result of the rise in toxic emissions expelled by cars in the form of exhaust gases. The greater number of vehicles on the road is also responsible for a rise in traffic jams. This is because roads that were built for bikes or a limited number of cars are now liable to be clogged with a line of vehicles during peak times. For example, most roads in Ho Chi Minh City were built to carry bikes only, but now there are up to 5,000 new cars added to the streets a month, and it now takes up to half an hour to travel one kilometre within the city centre. A solution to these problems is to build a sustainable public transport system. This would solve the problems by taking most people off the roads and onto either an underground train or a train that runs above the road, and both of these options cause less pollution than cars. As traffic problems and pollution increase, most people will become frustrated and decide to either sell their car or only use it when absolutely necessary. This is why Ho Chi Minh City is currently building their first metro line and sky train, similar to Bangkok’s, and these are projected to reduce journey times and pollution by up to 50% when they are completed. In conclusion, the main problems with the rise in the number of motor vehicles in developing countries are rising pollution and congestion, but these can be addressed through modern public transport infrastructure.