Some people think that universities should assign students to share dormitory rooms. Others think that students should be able to choose their roommates on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people contemplate that teaching organizations like universities should introduce students to common dormitory rooms, while others argue that students should have the right to choose their own roommates. However, assigning students to share hostel rooms will assist the university in creating an unbiased academic environment, whereas I believe students should be free to pick up their roommates on their own. Assigning students to a hostel will keep the academic environment unbiased, and the university principals can serve students on a first come, first served basis, in this manner, the dormitory environment can be very peaceful. Moreover, living in a diverse culture with roommates from different backgrounds can help students learn about each other, share their experiences, and learn from each other. For example, while I was studying for my bachelor's degree at the Islamic University of Technology, we had roommates from 58 countries, and we learned a lot from each other about our cultures, shared experiences, and many more. However, I believe that sometimes shared dormitories could be disputable because of cultural differences. On the other side of the argument, those who can choose their roommates will enjoy living in a hostel room. Some students, by nature, like to have roommates like themselves to hang out with them, study together, and live in harmony for around 2 to 4 years, which is quite a long time to live with someone. Additionally, students who choose their roommates at the dormitory outperform the students who are assigned to shared dormitories. For instance, most European universities leave the choice of selecting roommates to the students to have a masterpiece environment for studies. I believe picking up roommates should be free for all students to do better in their studies because some students don’t really care for studying and cause harm to others as well. In conclusion, compulsory assigning students will be an easy choice for most universities to remove the burden of disputes and prejudice in the academic environment; on the contrary, the student's rights to opt for their roommates should be preserved. I believe choosing a roommate will help students stay focused on their studies and relax during their stay at the hostel; otherwise, they may opt to stay outside of the hostel.