Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

A huge number of species are facing threats of extinction all over the world. The figure of endangered animals has spiked significantly over the decade. If this is not managed effectively and immediately then the crisis may multiply exponentially hampering more than just wildlife. The two major reasons leading to this state of emergency are poaching and habitat damage. firstly, poaching has taken a huge toll on animal survival even after a serious effort to conserve wildlife. There is a high demand for endangered species and their by-products, so smuggling can be an attractive business for the poachers. Secondly, the destruction of the habitat of wild animals is common which is due to a myriad of causes, such as pollution, deforestation, forest fires and so on. This can impede their way of living, mating and reproduction ultimately resulting in extinction. Hopefully, there are many kinds of solutions to this problem. The most effective one thus far has been conservation of the wild animals. By increasing a safe haven, be it in situ or ex-situ, for animals, they can thrive and recover their number. It can also serve as an educational means for awareness. Additionally, effective legislation and implementation can prevent over-exploitation of animals for commercial purposes. Breaking the demand-supply chain can be the most successful combat to poaching and smuggling. To conclude, animal endangerment is a burning issue in all regions of the world but it is not something that cannot be resolved. Despite the challenging conditions, this problem can be managed with sustainable protection, effective legislation and awareness.