When a new town is planned, it is more important to develop public parks and sports facilities than shopping centres for people to spend their free time in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that in planning a new city, it is more important to construct public parks and sports venues than shopping malls where people spend their leisure time. I totally agree with this idea because parks and sports facilities bring more benefits to the citizens in long term than shopping centres do. In general, shopping centres attract a lot of people and promote trade and job creation, but the main part of the profits is concentrated in a few big companies. Consumers like to spend their free time and their money in shopping malls, because it gives a sensation of prosperity and security. Moreover, everybody ends up consuming something in their shops, and sometimes, poor people are kept away from these places. Besides, more shopping areas than green spaces promote sedentary lifestyle and consumerism. On the other hand, public parks and sports spaces normally are free of charge and are an opportunity to keep in contact with nature and live a healthier life. In the medium and long term, this kind of facility is more important to towns, and it helps to promote health and leisure for all social classes. Furthermore, this policy helps the environment and biodiversity. So, to conclude, I believe that is more important to design public areas for parks and places to do sports than building shop areas. The entrepreneurs will find locales to do their business anyway. However, the public power has the responsibility to encourage outdoor activities and a better lifestyle through free public venues like sports facilities and parks.