Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, most people are willing to share their personal data with technology companies in order to use their software. Even though such behaviour has its advantages like reduced cost of purchase for users and low legal complications for the organizations, I believe the disadvantages like the risk of fraud and invasion of privacy outweigh its benefits. One advantage of voluntary sharing of personal data by users to technology service providers is that it ensures users enjoy a reduced price for purchasing the product. Often, these companies provide their customers with huge discounts on their service fees only if the users decide to share their personal information with them. This, sometimes brings down the cost, as a result, users can use the software, even for free. Another advantage of such a user scenario is that it allows companies to skip the legal complications of getting this personal information. Frequently, corporations get into compliance battles with regulatory authorities to defend the acquisition of customer's personal data. For example, Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook's CEO, was sued by many users and the US government for its unethical ways of acquiring user data. However, this kind of transaction can also result in an increase in cyber fraud. More often than not, the personal data shared by consumers have critical data like bank accounts and identification numbers. Going forward, if these organisations' servers and databases are hacked, then all this private information may fall into the wrong hands, thereby increasing the chances of internet crimes. Secondly, customers do not even read terms and agreements properly while signing up for such an agreement, this allows tech companies to track user data and their online journeys across multiple platforms, resulting in invasion of privacy. For example, websites asking for permissions related to internet browser cookies have a tendency to track user journeys across the internet, right from the moment these users agreed to the conditions. For this reason, I believe the disadvantages outweigh its advantages. In conclusion, although voluntary opt-in by users to share their personal with tech companies reduces consumer purchase costs and corporations' legal hurdles, I believe the risk of internet crimes and tracking of user footprint throughout the internet outweighs its positives.