Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their function. Do you agree or disagree?

There are those who argue that there is no need to spend money on the maintenance of public bookstores, as computer technology can fullfill the same functions more efficiently. In this day and age, individuals are encouraged to make use of virtual libraries. To begin with, the cost to keep libraries open is costly and expensive. In fact, bookhouses involve significant expenses such as building maintenance, utilities, staff salaries, and security. It is believed this money could be better spent on other social programs or infrastructure projects. As an example, studies by the American Enterprise Institute (AEI) highlight the fact that reading room visits have declined by 20% in the past decade, arguing the cost of maintaining buildings and staff outweighs the number of patrons. Similarly, a report by the American Library Association (ALA) in 2020 might indicate that the average annual cost of maintaining a traditional bookshops is several hundred thousand dollars. In addition, it is a fact to say that computers have a lot of functions that can replace physical bookstores. Online book repositories which can log in through a library website or mobile app using a member card, are accessible from anywhere with an internet connection. For instance, a detailed study by the Pew Research Center on Internet and Broadband Access explores how digital access is reshaping library usage. In conclusion, computer technology can do a great job of replacing many of the traditional functions of public libraries by making digital resources more accessible and affordable. With technology advancing so rapidly, it seems smarter to put our money into developing digital infrastructure rather than just keeping up physical libraries.