Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

More and more multinational corporations are expanding into developing nations. Such a development has advantages like economic growth and a rise in employment opportunities. It also has disadvantages like loss of cultural values and environmental degradation. Large organizations setting up their businesses in developing countries is followed by the financial growth of these nations. As they deploy more money to buy plots and construct their offices, the earnings of the government increases as a result, thereby contributing to economic growth. Additionally, multinational companies fuel more employment opportunities for native people, because the cost of recruiting local people is lower compared to bringing workers from overseas, thereby increasing job vacancies. For example, Apple Inc. has opened its manufacturing hub for iPhones and iPads in Tamil Nadu, a state in India, which lead to the hiring of more people from the state. One of the disadvantages of such a development is that people leave behind their cultural roots to live a capitalistic life. This results in the depletion of local cultures and value systems. Another disadvantage is the rise in environmental degradation. With the increase in large companies, more areas are required for constructing offices, which in turn comes at the cost of deforestation and dust pollution. For instance, Mumbai, a city in India, has experienced a high air-quality index for the last 15 years, after large financial companies started building their offices there. In conclusion, there is an increasing trend of multinational companies expanding their businesses in developing nations. This is a welcoming development because it contributes to economic growth and increases employment opportunities, but comes at the cost of depletion of the local culture and the environment.