Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is more useful for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some claim that television’s importance is more in education, while others suggest its importance lies more in entertainment. While watching television helps in learning about world affairs, I believe it is used more for consuming movies, shows, and serials. On the one hand, watching news from different channels allows people to stay updated with current affairs. People are able to learn about sports, wars, and politics by simply pressing a button on the remote. There are also certain channels that help in teaching elementary subjects, specifically for children who cannot afford schools. For example, an Indian TV channel called Pogo teaches children how to draw paintings and write poems. However, I believe that all these can be done using a mobile phone and an internet connection, which is now available to everyone. On the other hand, watching movies on television can help people stay entertained and reduce stress after a hectic day at work. After coming from a long day at work, watching a movie alone or with your partner or family members helps in mental well-being. Not just movies, television can also be used for games by children and adults alike. For instance, people from all over the world connect their PlayStations to a TV to play FIFA or Call of Duty. I believe that such a use fulfils its potential by providing entertainment and reducing stress. In conclusion, sometimes televisions act as a source of knowledge for people, but its benefits lie more while watching it for entertainment purposes because it reduces stress.