These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, there are some situations in which women go out to work while men stay at home to take care of their children. In this essay, the cause of this positive trend will be given. There are some reasons why men and women exchange their conventional roles. Firstly, technological development has created new career paths for women. Therefore, they have more opportunities to find jobs that can sufficiently finance their lives as well as their families. Thus, they can make an equivalent or better income compared to males. For example, careers such as teacher, saler, or manager are well-paid and suitable for females as they require flexibility and emotional intelligence rather than physical strength. Secondly, as society becomes more open, traditional stereotypes have vanished. Nowadays, men can stay at home to look after their kids without criticism from society like they used to be in the past. Consequently, this development has some beneficial impacts on both genders. The first effect is efficiency in role-playing in families. To be more specific, if one of the two spouses can work better than their partner and earn more salary, the other can stay at home to take care of the family for better financial and domestic performance. Another benefit is that people are freer to choose their desired career path without being criticised by others. For example, men no longer have to bear the pressure of being capable of feeding the whole family while women are not restricted to household chores anymore. In conclusion, the development of technology can give everyone more opportunities to choose a career and do what they do better as well as decrease pressure on men from society.