Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In this hyper-competitive academic landscape, the relentless pursuit of academic excellence has led many students to be at war during exams; fighting to be the best of the best in their respective schools. This has recently caused a stir in the parent community, as they worry about their children's mental well-being. Undeniably, the harmless competition encourages young minds to thrive to be better, but at what cost? Some students are left burnt out as a result of cognitive overload. Therefore, is this healthy competition absolutely necessary? Or will it bring more harm than good? In this essay, I will discuss both views on the topic. Right off the bat, healthy peer pressure is absolutely necessary as young achievers can push each other across boundaries to achieve a milestone. For instance, during my final exams, my friend and I would constantly call each other during the revision period, and we would take timed quizzes together and analyse our marks of improvement. Inevitably, both of us achieved the highest award for outstanding subject accomplishments. Without the constant competition and peer pressure, none of us could have made it this far. Therefore, self-sufficient stress is indispensable to encourage pupils to be at their best motivation in school. Conversely, this competition could be fatal if one tends to over-push their boundaries and is unable to control their emotions if failure arises. To illustrate this point, a student in the United Kingdom was once reported as dead by homicide of her own classmate. Driven by anger, the perpetrator stabbed her rival student using a pencil after getting the second-highest mark instead of the highest. Undoubtedly, this case has happened multiple times over the years and it has been the counsellor responsibility to check on every student, even the brightest minds of the batch. In conclusion, I stand by my belief that competitions among younger demographics are the primary drivers to success. However, a pro-active modus operandi is required to monitor students who seem deteriorated and drained from the burden of studying. Lastly, addressing this burgeoning issue necessitates the implementation of holistic and evidence-based mental health programs. Therefore, negative impacts can be averted to save a life of their own or of their surroundings.