In some countries, younger people are neglecting their right to vote. What problems does this cause and what are some of the possible solutions?

Young people are choosing not to vote in the elections in some countries. Such a development causes problems like unfair elections and skewed voting. The possible solutions to this are mandating holidays on election week and incentivising voters for placing their votes. When young people refrain from putting their votes, one of the problems that arise is the rise of unfair means of casting votes. Candidates, often, use illegal techniques such as repeat votes to win elections in such a scenario. Additionally, the absence leads to voting results being skewed towards a particular candidate. Because young voters are in the majority, their absence might increase the chances of the remaining votes to go in favour of one party over the other. For example, the ruling party in India has won back-to-back national elections by absolute majority because most people below 28 years of age did not vote. One of the solutions for the low attendance of young people is to encourage companies to provide mandatory leaves for the entire voting week. More often than not, these are the people who are at an early stage of their career and tend to live away from their native places. Therefore, they find travelling for voting less necessary than working. Another solution is for the governments to introduce a policy of incentivising people casting their votes. If they have a reason to turn up and that reason is in their best interest, then the countries would see an increased footprint of young people at the voting booths. For instance, allowing people to receive subsidies on income tax can attract young voters to be present for voting. In conclusion, young people not voting has dire consequences on a country’s sovereignty because it fuels illegal voting methods and skews the total votes in one’s favour. Organizations providing mandatory leaves for encouraging employees to travel, and the government’s introduction of income tax rebates upon voting are the potential solutions.