In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

A lot of countries are seeing their population become an ageing population, many think this generates problems for the government while others believe it is beneficial if society has more senior citizens. Even though it may result in an increase in public spending, I believe the benefits of having a good reputation for the government outweigh the drawbacks it may have. Due to the declining level of health and the lack of physical capacity elderly people may have, it is crucial for governments to improve their healthcare services and public facilities. Some people see this as a problem because it pushes the government to decrease the proportion of other subtantial areas in order to make room for the needs of an ageing population. For example, the budget allocated for education for young people might be redirected to healthcare facilities for elderly people. However, I believe that taking care of all your citizens is a responsibility of the state, regardless of their age. Taking care of the senior citizens will bring a positive perception towards the government. In the bigger picture, more elderly people means more life expectancy number of the population, in other words, the government has the capacity and competency to look out for its citizens. For instance, a country without a proper healthcare system, will not have a large number of elderly people which indicates the country's inability to do their responsibility. In conclusion, although an ageing population creates extra spending for the government, I believe the advantages of the positive perception from the citizens towards the government outweigh any drawbacks it may cause.