In some countries, it is possible to buy a wide variety of foods, which have been transported from all over the world.  Do the benefits of this development outweigh its drawbacks?

Nowadays, it has been quite common that citizens in some countries can buy a wide range of foods transported from all over the world in their daily life, due to the advance of economy and transportation. In my view, this phenomenon has more positive effects. One main benefit is that access to plenty of food has some positive and far-reaching effects on residents' physical health and mental satisfaction. That is because more kinds of foods generally mean various nutrients, such as vitamins, proteins and fibres, and even some minor trace beneficial for human health can be consumed. This can meet the diverse nutritious needs of bodies and thus it is conducive to their physical health. At the same time, when seeing colourful and rare foods from other regions, a sense of satisfaction will arise, because it signifies the improvement of their living standards, which is beneficial for their well-being. Besides, the consumption of foods which are delivered overseas can develop the economy. In the process of sending and selling, more jobs are created, including packaging, transporting and retailing, which is good for increasing individual incomes and promoting economic growth. However, it is undeniable that there are some drawbacks. To be more specific, this kind of food may deteriorate public physical health. In order to maintain food's fresh and eye-catching, foods transported for a long distance are often rubbed with preservatives, which can ruin consumers' health, especially those who often eat the foods from other areas. Furthermore, this trend adversely affects the environment. Compared with local foods, these from other zones contain more carbon footprint, as the vehicles to transport foods emit lots of pollutants, for example, carbon dioxide, into the air. On the other hand, these problems would be addressed with the progress of science, inventing some better additives and clean fuels. In conclusion, I argue that this situation has more merits, due to the positive influences on physical as well as psychological health and the economy. Nevertheless, I hope the development of science could solve the problems caused by long-distance food.