The differences between countries are becoming less and less evident, as people all over the world wear the same fashions, use the same brands, have similar eating habits and watch the same TV channels. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, everyone struggles to spend a lavish lifestyle, and therefore, the standard of living worldwide has reached a plateau. Albeit the trend of spending an equivalent lifestyle possesses a set of merits and demerits, I firmly assert that the positives of such a trend overpowers the negatives. On the one hand, attaining a similar lifestyle poses a threat to the local culture and customs. To explain this further, societies, driven by the notion of modernization, tend to lose their traditions and culture in pursuit of trending lifestyles. As a result, such regions no longer serve as places of tourism due to the loss of discrepancies in living standards. For instance, many tourists, captivated by the diversity of customs and traditions of other regions, visit them; while on the contrary, nations with the same culture do not fall on their preference list at all. Hence,the uniqueness of culture and traditions are integral to every country and should not be lost in the pursuit of modernity. On the other hand, there are several advantages of uniformity in lifestyles. To elucidate, many resources are readily available to the locals when people's lifestyle is ubiquitous. In this manner, everyone is capable of accessing the same amenities as others, which in one perspective, fortifies nations. To exemplify, when people are familiar with the perks of upgraded lifestyles, they struggle even harder to achieve them, and, owing to this, the economy of the country stabilises in general. Similarly, it is one of the rights of people to enjoy the virtues of a standard quality of life. This means that when quality of life becomes equal everywhere, people stop competing with one another, and the net effect this adds to the security of nations. For example, quality of life is equal in several developed nations of the world, subsequently, crime rates are also small in these places. To conclude, it is obvious that having the same living standards everywhere has some drawbacks which should be considered, nonetheless, when macroscopically viewed, the advantages of this practice outnumber its disadvantages. The best approach is to adopt modernity in such a manner that ensures the security of cultural vibrance.