Some people think the best way to solve the traffic congestions in cities is to provide free public transports for 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people opine that the most effective way to solve traffic congestion is to give free public transports all day long for citizens. However, I do not agree with this idea wholeheartedly, and I will explain why in the following paragraphs. To start with, the fees for commuters are not expensive, and almost everyone can afford them. Thus, I believe if the costs for buses, trams, subways, and so on are free in the future, it will not reduce the chance of traffic jams happening. The people who go to work by driving cars will remain the same, because they may think it is not very handy for them to use the public transportation system to reach their destinations. Another point I would like to discuss is that public transportation should not be allowed to open in 24 hours every single day, because most of the time in the night, people would not use them. Most of the people are sleeping during those hours. Only a few of them may need to use them to go somewhere. As a result, if we put our money into those projects, we will lose a lot of funds eventually, so I do think this plan can work. In a nutshell, you can not go everywhere you would like to go by our systems. Therefore, sometimes people would rather ride motorbikes or drive cars than take buses or underground in order to go there. Transportation should not be allowed anytime, because people would not use them in every hour and minute.