In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have the opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Many years ago majority of the students preferred to gain a degree in their hometowns while currently, people have more options for a university education. There are some pros and cons related to this new development. The striking advantage of abroad studies is an international environment. Generally, if you study abroad, you know people from many countries. Having these international connections can be beneficial for future life. For instance, if I had not spent one academic year in Budapest, getting my double degree program there, I would not have had the opportunity to travel to different countries where I could be hosted by my new friends. Moreover, if you study in another country, you are forced to adapt to a new culture and new conditions. Due to this, you boost your confidence, develop some soft skills and broaden your mind. Furthermore, international experience gives the chance to travel and make new unforgettable memories. However, you can face some difficulties while studying abroad. Moving to a new country alone, may seem complicated for some students. First of all, you have to communicate in a foreign language, depending on the country where you move, or at least in English. Not everyone is willing to study a new language. Moreover, not only can the language but also the culture of a new country be a barrier. For example, in Spain locals have "Siesta" - the time of the day when they take rest. Usually, it lasts for 2-3 hours after lunchtime. Therefore, most of the supermarkets, different services or even restaurants can be closed, so you should be aware of this. Overall, nowadays most of the students have the chance to get their university degree abroad. Despite it has some obstacles that they may face, it allows them broader opportunities and perspectives.