In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some countries, people argue that working diligently can provide children with opportunities to achieve their goals. While there are some drawbacks associated with this, I believe that the main advantages are more substantial. On the one hand, a potential disadvantage of working hard towards aims may be getting depressed. In other words, once youngsters fail to acquire whatever they want, finding themselves a hopeless person is not unlikely. This can result in mental disorders such as depression in the long run. Another perceived negative is that working hard may result in sacrificing anything in favour of one’s ambitions. Therefore, such individuals are unable to enjoy their lives and always are striving to make their dreams come true. Moreover, they are more prone to health problems such as sleep deprivation. For example, in Japan, working hard is a part of people’s culture and they face major problems in their everyday lives. On the other hand, a primary benefit of making further efforts is that society can benefit from it. Children who are encouraged to attempt hard are more likely to become upstanding individuals. Consequently, they are able to contribute to their community in many different ways. For example, in America, economic progress owes to scientists, politicians and people who are experts in a particular field. A further advantage is that people who are trying hard towards their targets are less likely to turn to crimes. This can lead to a higher standard of living for community members. On balance, it is true that trying hard would seem disadvantageous under certain circumstances. However, in my view, its advantages in terms of upbringing practical individuals and preventing crimes override the disadvantages.