Nowadays families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this. Why is this happening ? Do the advantage of this trend outweigh the drawbacks ?

In recent years, many people have become accustomed to weaker family ties than in the past. The reasons behind this phenomenon are primarily linked to advances in technology and global mobility. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons and explain why the drawbacks far outweigh the limited benefits. To begin with, connections among family members have declined significantly due to factors enabled by technology. Because people are capable of travelling by plane from one country to another to study or work abroad, this has led to their separation from their nuclear families. Moreover, technological development has weakened blood ties as people spend excessive hours in front of screens, resulting in not only fragmenting countless households but also leaving folks mentally and emotionally drained. For example, in 2021, a UK survey reported that nearly two-thirds of international students had not seen their relatives for more than a year. Furthermore, despite minor advantages, such as independence, personal growth, and complete autonomy, the disadvantages pose a serious threat to individuals. Humans are naturally social and need to be close to their families; otherwise, they are likely to experience a rise in stress-hormone levels. For instance, a study published in the American Psychological Journal showed that 76% of citizens who lived alone without sufficient contact with their relatives reported several mental health issues, including stress, depression, and burnout. To conclude, although there are certain advantages to losing touch with family, I am convinced that the disadvantages surpass them. The technological progress and cross-border mobility have enabled employees and pupils to neglect their family bonds, devastating their sources of emotional support.