‘Some schools are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupils, while other schools have a very relaxed dress code. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children of having a school uniform?

It is known that schools take measures to maintain discipline, one of them being dress code. However, not every educational facility supports the idea that having strict rules for clothes affects the effectiveness of schooling. Although having no dress policy has certain benefits, I believe that the drawbacks are greater. Initiating with a few benefits, applying attire regulations helps students feel the involvement in the school community. Wearing the same clothes in the same palette and style allows pupils to be equal and have the same starting opportunities. Every pupil in school comes from a different social class and, in some cases, this might become a major problem, where some of them become the target of mockery due to their advantages of career choice. However, school uniform eliminates the problem at the root. Another positive side of having a school uniform is that it reduces bullying or any prejudiced behaviour about looks or choices of the brand towards anyone. For instance, rich and poor can sit together and exchange information with each other without any conflicts. On the other hand, there are many disadvantages as well. The first and foremost is that fashion allows people to express their individuality, therefore, having strict regulations puts scholars in the shell. For example, all of the pupils go through teenage years at school. It is the time for finding yourself and establishing your character. On some occasions fashion comes as the only way to do so, adolescents experiment with their style and looks. Another negative side is that school uniforms are uncomfortable. Children refuse to wear the dress code because it hampers their movement. It is no secret that students spend most of their day at school where they jump, run and participate in various activities. On the contrary, if there is uniform it becomes a burden and restricts their motions. Therefore, as mentioned above, upsides are limited compared to downsides. In conclusion, I think that wearing school uniforms is a great tool to show equality. However, there is no doubt that having a relaxed dress code gives students a sense of freedom and allows them to be themselves.