Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and tradition methods of food preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Easy-to-cook meals are going to be the new norm by replacing old-fashioned meals and cooking techniques. In my perspective, this change is inevitable, considering numerous factors like time efficiency and cost efficiency, which make life easier. First and foremost, there is a huge opportunity cost of time consumed in preparing traditional cuisine by following lengthy recipes. For example, marinating chicken is required for plenty of old-fashioned dishes, and it typically takes 1-2 hours to marinate which is essentially just the first step of preparation. Whereas, on the other hand, frozen fried chicken takes 30-45 mins to be fully ready for consumption. Hence, the time saved by eating the latter can be used towards learning a better skill or simply relaxing after work. Therefore, the time allocated to cook the traditional way can be used towards completing a daily task or reviving the body. Furthermore, pricing also plays a major role in the shift of consumer preferences, the price of preparing food using old methods is more due to more number of ingredients. For instance, Maggi noodles, which are cooked in under 5 minutes, contain all the ingredients in the packet itself, whilst for cooking homemade noodles from scratch, we require flour, spices, sauces, colouring agents and whipping cream. There is a significant difference in the price and due to rising inflation, people want to minimize their household expenditure. Therefore, convenient food is set to become the new comfort food for society. To conclude, the consumption pattern is shifting from traditional cuisine to readily available ones due to time constraints, considering the long procedures of cooking with old-style cooking. Also, the cost aspect persuades people to buy convenient foods from the market.