In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

More automobiles will not require any driver inside of them in the future, this will bring benefits as well as problems. Although it can make people’s lives easier, I think this benefit does not outweigh the main problem which is the potential for an increase in accidents. The main advantage of driverless vehicles is that people do not think about driving anymore. Driving is basically a difficult task because it requires the drivers to be completely focused and careful with their surroundings. Due to the automation systems built into their vehicles, people can do other things that are beneficial for them while they are in a vehicle instead of focusing their eyes on the road and doing more things. For example, a lot of Tesla car owners are able to do multiple chores while they are turning on the autopilot mode, such as doing work and having breakfast. However, automobiles that rely on automation are also at a high risk of accidents. This is because a lot of the AI systems and software that are used to drive an automobile are still in the perfecting stages. Even though Artificial Intelligence can learn from many sources of data and information, there are still a huge number of driving situations that AI is not able yet to adapt which can lead to accidents. For example, recent studies found that many Tesla cars are involved in many accidents in the USA. In conclusion, even though automated cars, buses, and trucks can bring benefits such as more practicality for many people, I believe the advantage does not outweigh the main drawback, which is the increasing potential for accidents.