In some countries, younger people are neglecting their right to vote. What problems does this cause and what are some of the possible solutions?

It is argued in certain states, the youth are not using their right to vote. This could lead to government policies that do not represent young people's aspirations. The viable solutions to this would be to create accessible online platforms for election-related information and encourage more young people to vote through more engaging campaigns. Politicians with policies that do not align with the needs of youth would be one of the problems this phenomenon caused. That is to say, if many young people do not participate in elections or politics in general, it is harder to pressure politicians to implement policies that accommodate young people's needs and aspirations. In times when the future is highly uncertain with problems like climate change and geopolitical conflicts, policies that do not tackle these issues therefore could result in many enormous problems in the future. For example, a recent study found that states are most likely to abandon climate change policies when the number of young people's votes is low. One suitable solution for this is to create accessible online platforms, such as websites and social media accounts where young people can access information related to the election. Since most young people use the internet and social media a lot, online platforms will be beneficial to easily expose young people to the election. Another way to overcome this would be to create interesting campaigns that encourage more youth to participate in the election. Due to the fact that many youth are bored with the conventional, old-school ways of campaigning, campaigns that are more engaging and playful for the youth will likely persuade them to vote. For example, a platform created by BijakDemokrasi in Indonesia, along with their campaigns in social media such as TikTok and Instagram, are often regarded as impactful initiatives to boost young people's votes. To conclude, problems such as the lack of policies that tackle future problems would happen with the declining number of youth votes. This could be overcome with solutions such as the existence of online platforms and fresh campaign strategies.