Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years in the world that many cities now are "one big traffic jam". Do you think that this statement is true? What measure can government take to address this problem?

These days, a lot of cities have traffic congestion due to the constant buying of cars for the last 3 decades. From my perspective, this statement is correct, as it is evident from the traffic-related issues we face nowadays. Moreover, this is because of the increasing population and hence, the government should take measures to slow down the increasing population rate and limit the number of automobiles on the road. First and foremost, across the world, populace growth has been rapid leading to the requirement of more resources, including vehicles. For instance, Honda, annually reports a surge rate of automobile sales, and the company has gradually expanded its locations throughout the United States. Also, every individual drives a personal car due to easy payment plans. Thus, problems like jams occur, considering the number of people driving cars and the increased sale of automobiles. To deal with this issue, the government should take steps to reduce the population in the long term, but in the short term, they should limit the usage of automobiles on roads and encourage usage of public transportation instead. For example, Delhi police recently enforced a law, limiting the vehicles on roads every single day. This encouraged people to carpool or use buses and subways. Therefore, reducing vehicles on the road will resolve the problem of overcrowding to some extent. In conclusion, the problems due to traffic are increasing due to the growing populace of cities which are already congested and overpopulated. Subsequently, the government should cap the usage of cars and encourage the public to use public transportation.