‎ Some young people leave the countryside to live in cities or towns, leaving only ‎older people in the countryside. What are the problems of this issue? What can ‎be done to solve this problem?‎

It becomes a trend that younger generations decide to move to urban areas and leave elderly citizens in the rural area. This essay will elaborate more on the problem caused by this phenomenon and the solution that can be used to tackle it. To begin with, many people move to towns will cause a housing crisis in the cities. As many immigrants come to towns, they need to buy or build houses to live. In contrast, the land available is not equivalent to the quantity of incomers which increases time by time. Thus, the housing area will not sufficient for all citizens. For example, there are many houses built adjacent to rivers in Jakarta, and studies showed that many of them are actually immigrants. This issue is not solely housing concern, it will affect to people's health who live there in long term. Talking about a solution, government needs to increase countryside's minumum wage. As the average salary increases, it will attract young individuals to stay in the countryside. Higher income is one of the main reasons why younger generation decide to make a career in the urban areas, hence, this proposed policy will dissuade them. For instance, Jakarta's regional minumum wage is around Rp 4,800,000 per month, whereas Tegal is only half of it. It surely influences many fresh graduates to find better living in the towns. In conclusion, housing crisis in the urban areas is predicted to be happened by trend of moving to cities. Government, however, can increase the minimum wage of rural areas to attract the young people to stay.