Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The increasing number of multinational companies in developing countries brings benefits as well as drawbacks. There are some benefits of this trend such as the increase of foreign domestic investments and job availability in the country. However, this trend could also result in the lack of development of small and medium local enterprises and a decrease in the sales of local products. On the one hand, the main advantage of the increase in international companies is the addition of new investments. As a result, developing countries can use their investments to fund essential services, such as health and education. Moreover, international companies will open many high-quality job opportunities to the population. This will decrease the unemployment rate and push more economic growth. For example, Vietnam's economy has started to grow and its unemployment rate is declining after opened itself to more foreign companies, especially the manufacturing industry. On the other hand, the growing number of overseas companies could hinder emerging local enterprises. This is due to the fact that many small and medium local companies have small investments and are not able to compete with bigger foreign companies. That is to say, the foreign companies will take their market and make them more difficult to compete. In addition, because the market is filled by foreign companies with high-quality goods, it is also possible to see a decrease in local product purchases. This is because many people believe it is better to buy foreign products than local goods. For example, nowadays many textile businesses in Indonesia are closed due to their inability to compete with clothes from China and Vietnam that are more preferred by Indonesians. To conclude, the growing number of multinational companies in developing countries brings advantages and disadvantages. The advantages include a higher number of foreign investments and an increase in job availability while the disadvantages include the unequal competition for small and medium local businesses and a decline in local products' sales.