Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Need for human labor is decreased with the development of high-level technologies and it is expected that this should lead to less working hours. I totally agree with this statement due to several reasons. To begin with, rapid growth of AI and automation are the main motives that supports my viewpoint. Artificial intelligence have specific fields like computer vision or natural language processing which can handle the tasks performed by employees without expertise like writing emails, filling data fields on documents and many more. Additionally, nowadays automation removes the need for the physical strength of human. Special designed robots are used in developed factories to accomplish the work which is very hard or repetitive. Advanced car manufacturers like Tesla or Volkswagen already use fully autonomous production. Moreover, possibility of remote and flexible hours and potential benefits of less working time demonstrates why my point of view is valid. Firstly, a very small part of the jobs in the market require physical activity. Most vacations involve soft skills like problem-solving, ability to work with team and hard skills like programming, marketing, accounting and others which makes it possible to work remotely. Secondly, reduced working hours can help employees to maintain a good work -life balance and let them to spend more time on creativity and innovation. People that do not waste a lot on work can split their time equally both for creativity and social life. In conclusion, I firmly believe that working hours should be reduced because of technologies’ development and their integration to our daily life, as well as the benefits of less working hours. Even if these technologies are not applicable for most companies, it is recommended to benefit them and create employee satisfaction.