In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is positive or a negative development?

Urbanisation is constantly progressing over the world, which has inevitably resulted in a decrease in the rural population. From my perspective, this phenomenon, on the one hand, helps peasants access high-quality public resources; on the other hand, these "new citizens" could be severely exploited without systematic support for them. Before expounding on the issue, I would like to explore the benefits of urbanisation for the rural population. One of the most important is that when migrating to cities, peasants can more easily utilise high-quality resources, including municipal schools, top hospitals, and convenient transport systems which are usually concentrated in cities. My grandmother, who spent most of her life in the outskirts, was surprised that it took only three yuan to cross thirty kilometres by the underground, which is inconceivable in rural areas. This to some degree suggests that migration to cities can improve farmers' living standards. Nevertheless, what we have to note is that this is often theoretically possible. In many cases, peasants who move to cities not only do not enjoy urban conveniences but also are systematically exploited by the cities they choose. One compelling example may be Chinese "peasant workers", which means they live in cities and pay corresponding taxes but are not allowed to register their children in urban schools, and the local government will not cover any of their medical expenses. This may sound absurd and cruel, but this is true. Exorbitant living costs in cities and negligible support from local governments usually make peasant workers struggle with poverty, which is even more abhorrent when against the prosperity of those cities. Seen from this aspect, urbanisation is radically worrying. To summarise, theoretically speaking, migrating to cities is helpful to improve peasants ' living standards, since there are a large amount of resources. Nonetheless, unfortunately, the lack of supporting policies has transformed migration into systematic exploitation against peasants, which must raise enough awareness of governments.