You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us. Others believe that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

An inevitable heritage of deconstructionism is historical nihilism, which has haunted all contemporary historians and philosophists. From my perspective, on the one hand, this opinion arbitrarily repudiates the possibility of reflecting on history and whereby avoiding the same mistakes; on the other hand, it is partly reasonable in its insightful cognition that we do not "know" history, instead, only interpret it. Before defending history, I would like to expound on these rational elements of historical nihilism. Precisely as Zizek's saying, all histories are contemporary, which means when we learn history through various media, both the obscurity of these media and our cultural backgrounds will influence understanding. It is usually inevitable that we are not learning history, instead, we are "learning" the history in our eyes. Seen from this aspect, we can to some degree recognise the rationality of historical nihilism, which largely depended on the profound development of epistemology in the last two centuries. Nevertheless, as I have said, I am not intent on defending historical nihilism. But if our prosecution against it is based on a misconception about it, we cannot expect any actual progress in our efforts. After checking the rationality of historical nihilism, I would like to explain why I do not agree with it. One primary reason is that that we cannot grasp the truth of history does not mean we are unable to learn from it something. Although Hegel pessimistically said "the only thing the human has learnt from history is that they never learn anything from history ", this is not true. After the Holocaust caused by Nazis, the Germans have confirmedly rejected a party with racism; after the poisonous misty in London, the UK's government has persistently improved air conditions. The history of our versions does teach us something. In conclusion, although nihilists are justified to some degree in arguing that history does not tell us anything, this does not prevent us from continually absorbing wisdom from it, which helps us lead a better life.