WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

A few animal species already become non-existent, whilst others are becoming endangered as well. This is predominantly because of human activities like hunting and deforestation. In order to preserve animals the government should enforce laws, strictly prohibiting these practices. The major reason for extinction is human beings, as since ancient times hunting has been a popular hobby in many regions around the world and recently deforestation has forced animals to leave their natural habitat. For example, during the construction of new buildings in a town, forests are cut down brutally. Due to urbanization and growing population, more space is required to accommodate individuals. Therefore, animals lose their shelter to accommodate the growing population. A possible solution to this problem is the implementation of strict rules and regulations by the government to slow down the rate of extinction and enforce prevention measures to protect animals. For instance, in Sundarbans, which is home to tigers in India, the government has recently installed security systems to restrict entry and ban hunting practices in the jungle. This has led to a significant reduction in the number of animals hunting for food and fun. Thus, prohibition laws are required to safeguard endangered species on the earth. To conclude, some species of animals like dinosaurs became extinct; in the near future we are going to see more such categories. This is due to human interests and malpractices. Consequently, to resolve this issue, the government should restrict human activities by imposing fines and serious punishments on people who violate the laws.