The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, there is an arising debate over whether the number of days off during the week should be extended or not. I am strongly convinced that shorter working hours can be highly beneficial because of some reasons that will be stated in this essay. First of all, reducing working time may bring many advantages to employees’ well-being. This is because I believe that with longer weekends, workers will have more time to rest and pursue their hobbies. As a result, this will help them to release negative emotions as well as recharge their energy, which can lead to an improvement in concentration and work performance. To illustrate, in some countries, a reduction in the required time at office has shown positive effects in improving staffs’ health and productivity. Secondly, a shorter working week can also be advantageous for employers and their business. Even though the amount of time workers spend on the job decreases, the quality of their output seems to be higher because when people are well-rested and motivated, they can achieve a more positive outcome in a shorter time. In addition, as the workers have more time to spend with their family and relationships, they are likely to feel satisfied with their job. This can lead to a lower turnover rate of the company, which may help to save a lot of money and effort on recruiting new staff. In conclusion, I hold a firm belief that shortening the working hours can bring several benefits to both employees and the company’s business. However, it is crucial to consider all the pros and cons before implementing this as it may not be suitable for all types of corporation.