Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

In this day and age, technological advancements have led to an increase in life expectancy and the strengthening of health in older people, thus enabling them to live an exuberant life. The following essay is going to discuss the positive effects it brings to society. First and foremost, people who are over sixty-five can continue to contribute to society in the form of working. Simply put, though older individuals may not be fit to participate in works that require physical strength, there are plenty of jobs that could be a good fit for the elderly such as guards and running a small vendor. For example, in Vietnam, old people tend to work as guards for clothing shops, in which their main task is helping customers park their vehicles on the sidewalk. Moreover, many senior citizens in Vietnam still open their own businesses, normally serving light meals or running a convenience store. Furthermore, senior citizens can work in charity. This is due to the fact that many elderly have retired, so they have a lot of free time and energy, so many of them would direct their efforts into helping people in need. For instance, a group of old Vietnamese ladies once set up a counter in front of a hospital in Hanoi to give away free food to relatives of the patients, who were, at the time, tight on money because they needed to save up for medical procedures. In conclusion, the long life spans and improvements in the health of senior citizens mean that they can still contribute to our society despite their old age, such as continue working and doing charity.