Some people think that the best way to resolve environmental problems is to increase fuel and vehicles’ prices. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Environmental concerns have become a crucial topic these days and many believe that rising fuel and vehicles costs will tackle this problem. I personally agree with this notion because it forces citizens to reduce car demand and motivates them to turn into more environmentally friendly vehicles. To begin with, increasing fuel's selling price will force people to reduce its usage and increase air quality. As the price increases, people unwillingly switch to other alternative power sources, such as batteries, or they will sell their cars instead. Hence, the demand for cars will decline and it puts pressure on manufacturers to stop producing them. As a result, decreasing usage of cars will significantly affect the level of air pollution. For example, the air quality index in Indonesia reached a hazardous level in 2017, and thereby the government decided to cut off patron's subsidies to tackle this issue. Furthermore, by bringing vehicles prices to rise, citizens will consider purchasing electric cars. This type of car is considered environmentally friendly transportation because it does not produce dense fog in the air. As more individuals drive this car, the level of air quality will improve. For instance, Indonesian officials subsidize electric cars to be more affordable and motivate their citizens to transform their current vehicles into electric-powered transportation. It is expected to have more than half of citizens ride voltaic cars in order to achieve the national target of emission reduction. In conclusion, I completely believe that bringing up the cost of fuel energy and vehicles can be a correct choice to solve environmental concerns because it leads to a decrease in the demand for cars and an increase in the supply of electric cars, which are beneficial in reducing air pollution.