People believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Most countries have tax-laws that can not be ignored because they are mandatory for each citizen earning an income in the state that they are in. Usually the money they pay back to the state is a small percentage of their salary. I disagree with the fact that people should keep all their earnings and not pay tax to the state. The main reason why people pay a certain amount of money every month to the state is that the country can provide things in return. Building infrastructure is a main aim of the government which would not be possible if the funding was not provided by the citizens. Roads, schools and parks are expensive and take a long time to build and so taxes help pay for the materials and workers involved in the development of the country. Moreover, the monthly tax pay ensures that the elderly, who can not physically work anymore, get a pension so that they can afford housing, food and medical bills. If people were able to keep all their earnings the state would not have been able to provide help and money for the old generation, which might cause severe decline in life expectancy and quality. Another reason why I disagree with the idea is the fact that the state would not organise any events for its population. For example, concerts, parades and festivities on national holidays would not be able to be held because of an absence of money in the state budget, meaning citizens can not get free entertainment somedays. In conclusion, people should think about the consequences of not paying tax to the state, and try to find silver linings in the benefits of doing so. All in all, this act ensures the development of the country as well as the quality of life of its citizens.