WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, experts have been concerned about the spread of obesity among children. This essay will present the causes of this problem and possible solutions to decrease this trend. To begin with, obesity could be caused by both a lack of physical exercise and unhealthy eating habits. Furthermore, fewer kids are spending time playing outside or practising sports. That is because of the popularity of video games and other activities that require sitting all day long. For example, if a child is gifted an XBox or lessons in his favourite sport, it is not hard to predict that he will choose the first option. In addition, after the pandemic, more and more parents are becoming overprotective, being scared of letting their sons and daughters practise outside to avoid hurting themselves or becoming ill. On the other hand, also schools play an important role in this situation, the reason behind it is that they usually serve unhealthy food to save money. For instance, eating in the canteen in the USA is very expensive and nutritionists, after studying their meal plan, claim that it is far from a balanced diet. To address this issue, many things could be done to improve healthy habits during childhood. Firstly, more physical activities should be included during the school day, but also in the afternoon. Creating new sports clubs where little friends play all together keeping themselves fit could be a perfect example of that. Moreover, the government should introduce laws to establish the quality of food served to students, with the help of doctors and paediatricians to create a balanced diet for the young generation. For instance, instead of cooking french fries, they could be replaced by broccoli or other vegetables. In conclusion, childhood obesity is a dangerous issue due to the laziness and eating routine of children, but it could be faced with improvements by schools and institutions to help families prevent it.