Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Health of the citizens is crucial to any country’s government and devising ways to keep up or improve it is equally important. While some say that increasing the number of sports amenities is a must, others believe this to be an ineffective solution and encourage for other methods. Although building up such facilities can help to a certain extent, I believe the latter would be more beneficial because diet is a crucially important facet of health and availability of sports centres alone would not suffice. On the one hand, it is understandable why some people would make a direct correlation of health with facilities. In cities, these days, it is very uncommon to find a playground or park to play around or go for a walk. This might be concerning for parents as their children don’t have a place to play sports like badminton or cricket in the evening and as a result, might be forced to stay back at home, impacting health. For example, in Nagpur, a small sports -cum-playground complex for the public was opened up recently, resulting in some influx of visitors and promoting healthy lifestyle to a certain extent. On the other hand, health cannot be alone improved by exercises. One of the primary factors contributing to good health is diet. No amount of workout or outdoor activities can ensure a healthy body untless it is assisted with rich food consisting of protein, complex carbohydrates, fibre, and vitamins in sufficient proportions. Governments need to work on providing services to promote the culture of healthy eating through adverts or some programmes in local communities. For example, a gym-cum-park built in the outdoors of Mumbai in 2022, has been abandoned by the daily visitors due to lack of motivation or time. Many such parks or facilities have infact been built and now lying almost unused, due to lack of discipline, motivation and other factors which goes on to prove that other measures are more important. In conclusion, it is important for the countries to devise methods in the domain of healthy food and keeping up the motivation in raising the health index of citizens rather than just building the sports facilities.