Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree with this view?

To begin with, the fact that we cannot escape from advertising is a significant cause for complaint. Constant images and signs wherever we look tend to be very intrusive and irritating at times. Take, for example, advertising on the mobile phone. With the latest technology, mobile companies can now send promotional messages via SMS to consumers' phones whenever they choose. Although we expect ad campaigns in numerous situations, it now seems that there are very few places, we can actually avoid them. A further aspect of advertising that I would consider unethical is the way that it encourages people to buy products they may not need or cannot afford. Children and young people in particular are influenced by television commercials showing the latest toys, clothing or music and this can put enormous pressure on the parents to buy these items as well. In addition, the advertising of tobacco products and alcohol has long been a controversial issue, but cigarette adverts have only recently been banned in many countries. It is quite possible that alcohol adverts encourage excessive consumption and underage drinking, yet restrictions have not been placed on this type of advertising in the same way as smoking. It is certainly true to say that advertising is an everyday feature of our lives. Therefore, people are constantly being encouraged to buy goods or services that might be too expensive, unnecessary or even unhealthy. In conclusion, many aspects of advertising do appear to be morally wrong and are not acceptable in today's society as a whole.